Top Bar
           
Bottom Bar

Attendance Policy

Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors are responsible for following the FSU attendance policy for their college classes.  The FSU attendance policy can be found in the FSU online handbook. North Carolina Statute 115C-378 requires that students attend school 180 days; or 90 days for the year or each semester based on an A/B or 4 x 4 schedule.  Compulsory Attendance Laws for the State of North Carolina apply.  In order to be considered in attendance for high school courses, a student must be present in the school for the school day or at a place other than the school with the approval of the appropriate school official for the purpose of attendance or a school activity that has been officially authorized under the policies of the Board of Education.  Such activities may include field trips, athletic contests, student conventions, musical festivals, or any similar approved activity.  A student shall be present at least one-half of the school instructional day in order to be recorded present for the day.  Students must be in attendance 90% of the instructional year in order to receive credit for a course, which is equivalent to 81 school days in a semester class, or 81 days total for the year in an A/B class.

The responsibility for school attendance will be that of the home.  Parents and students are expected to cooperate with teachers and administrators to insure regular attendance.  To achieve an efficient and workable program regarding student attendance, the following procedures will be implemented:

  • Any student, including Juniors and Seniors, who comes onto campus late during the school day or needs to leave school for any reason, must check in/out through the main office.
  • Parent/guardian must provide a note explaining the student’s absence upon the student’s return to school.
  • Juniors and Seniors who miss a college class, must submit a copy of the doctor’s/parent note to the college liaison.
  • The homeroom teacher, classroom teacher, and the school office will keep daily records of attendance, check-ins, and check-outs.
  • Students who are absent ten consecutive days without notifying the school will be dropped from the attendance roster.
  • Students who are excessively absent for unexcused reasons may be dismissed from CCECHS.
  • Juniors and Seniors must sign-in daily to ACR.

Excused Absences

The superintendent, principal or the superintendent or principal’s designee is authorized to excuse a student temporarily from attendance due to sickness or other unavoidable cause.  When a student must miss school, a written excuse signed by a parent or guardian must be presented to the student’s teacher on the day the student returns after an absence.  The student is also required to provide other satisfactory evidence of the excuse upon request by the teacher, principal or principal’s designee.  An absence may be excused for the following reasons:

  1. personal illness or injury that makes the student physically unable to attend school;
  2. isolation ordered by the local health officer or the State Board of Health;
  3. death in the immediate family, including, but not limited to, grandparents, parents, brothers, and sisters;
  4. medical or dental appointment;
  5. participation as a party to an action or under subpoena as a witness in a court proceeding or administrative tribunal;
  6. a minimum of two days each academic year for observance of an event required or suggested by the religion of the student or the student’s parent(s) with written approval from the principal. The superintendent or designee may approve additional absences, provided they do not interfere with the education of the student.  The student shall have the opportunity to make up any tests or other work missed due to the excused absence for a religious observance;
  7. participation in a valid educational opportunity, such as travel or service as a legislative or Governor’s page, with any requirements established by the principal or superintendent; or
  8. absence due to pregnancy and related conditions or parenting, when medically necessary.

In addition, a student whose parent or legal guardian (a) is an active duty member of the uniformed services as defined by policy 4050, Children of Military Families, and (b) has been called to duty for, is on leave from, or has immediately returned from deployment to a combat zone or combat support posting will be granted up to five additional excused absences upon approval by the superintendent or designee to visit with his or her parent or legal guardian.

Absences due to extended illnesses generally require a statement from a physician.

In the case of excused absences and short-term out-of-school suspensions, the student will be permitted to make up his or her work in accordance with section D of this policy. (See also policy 4351, Short-Term Suspension.)   The student is responsible for finding out what assignments are due and arranging a time with the teacher to make up assignments missed during class time.

Students with lawful absences shall be given the opportunity to make up work missed in accordance with the following guidelines:

  • It is the student’s responsibility to contact the teacher(s) to make up missed work.
  • Make-up tests will be of equal value and/or on the same material as the missed test. However, the make-up test may not necessarily be the same test.
  • Students will have up to five days upon their return to make up all work and exams. The teacher may grant exceptions.
  • Exams and assignments, which were announced prior to the student’s absence, may be required to be made up immediately upon the student’s return.
  • Students may be required to do alternative assignments in place of missed classroom activities.

UNLAWFUL ABSENCES

Unlawful absence is defined as:

  • A student’s willful absence from school with or without the knowledge of the parent, or:
  • A student’s absence from school for any reason other than those listed under “Lawful Absences”, or:
  • Any absence, regardless of reason, not supported by written documentation within 2 school days of the absence.

Parents who refuse to comply with the health regulations of a community, such as compulsory vaccination, thereby causing a student to be excluded from school, or parents who permit a student to stay home or to be employed in any way contrary to the Child Welfare Law, shall be responsible for the nonattendance of the student.

The Board Policy for student attendance further incorporates by reference any additional rules and regulations of the State Board of Education governing compulsory school attendance and student accounting.

 

LAWFUL CHECK-INS

  • The parent/guardian must be present to check-in their student after 9:15 A.M, unless the student has valid documentation of a professional appointment (i.e. doctor, dentist, lawyer, or court note).
  • Excessive check-ins may result in disciplinary action.
  • Juniors and Seniors must sign-in daily with their ACR III or ACR IV teacher as soon as they arrive on campus and throughout the day during extended breaks between their college classes.

 

UNLAWFUL CHECK-INS

All other check-ins not identified as lawful are unlawful and will result in the following actions per semester:

INFRACTION ACTION
3rd unlawful check-in Detention/Student Conference
4th  unlawful check-in 1 day ISS
5th  unlawful check-in Administrative Conference w/ parent

CHECK-OUT POLICY

  1. Only individuals listed on the emergency contact form can check-out a student.  A photo ID must be provided in order to check the student out of school.
  2. Students who drive may check-out with a verifiable parent note.  The note must be brought to the office no later than 9:00 a.m. on the date of checkout. Telephone verification required per note.
  3. Parents and their designees must check out students in person at all times.
  4. Juniors and Seniors are expected to remain on campus from the start of their first class through the end of their last class.
  5. We will not be able to reach Juniors and Seniors during college classes, therefore they cannot be checked out during college classes.
  6. No checkouts are permitted for any student after 4:00 p.m.
  7. Students must maintain a “C” or higher to leave after college classes.
.........................................................................................................................................
Published by Jane Merritt on August 14, 2016
Bottom Bar
 
  • Visit links for more information

   
   
  • Visit links for more information

 
 
Bottom Bar
Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306
910.678.2300
© Cumberland County Schools

Send questions or comments to Web Manager

Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias